Untitled photo

750MC Headed to picturesque Cadwell

Cadwell Park was the setting for the 750 Motor Club as the Heatwave ended with rain falling on the picturesque Lincolnshire wolds circuit..

37 Locosts raced twice, split across three races. Jack Coveney returned to winning ways in opener, narrowly beating championship contender Ben Powney, with Chris Pyke taking his first podium finish of the season in third.

Mark Burton took his seventh victory of the season in the second race of the day, cementing his ambitions to take the title in his first full season of circuit racing. He beat Martin West and Pyke.

The heavens really opened for the finale, and it was series debutee Dominik Jackson that mastered the conditions to win by nine seconds. Coveney and Tom Gadd completed the podium after early leader Tim Neat went grass-tracking.

Untitled photo
Untitled photo

Hot Hatch saw the battle resume at the front, Ben Rushworth took a commanding Pole position by 2.20 seconds from the returning Neal Martin in his Honda. Steve Sawley had car troubles with the championship contender having to start at the back.

In Class B it was it was Phil Wright who beat championship leader Rodren Vella to pole. Class C saw a return to the front for Rob Fagg.

Race 1 saw Ben lead from the off, never been troubled on his way to victory. Alistair Camp finished in 2nd, with Sawley climbing from the back of the grid to finish 3rd. Wright took the honours for class B, with Michael Winkworth winning class C honours extending his lead.

Race 2 the rain began to fall, Sawley made the better start and beat Rushworth to lead. Rushworth tried to find away past, on the final lap his car broke due to a throttle cable promoting Camp to 2nd and former Classic Stock Hatch racer Ben Leach scored a maiden podium. Class B was another win for Wright, and Winkworth added to his tally claiming Class C honours, with MACAW motorsport claiming a double podium.

Ben Hancy won twice in the MX5 Cup, while championship leader Paul Maguire won once. Rafal Drzascz and Ian Tomlinson finished on the podium.

The 750 Formula opener was a dramatic affair when championship rival Bill Cowley and Ed Pither collided at Hall Bends. When the race was restarted at the end of the day in the wet – Cowley beat Mark Glover by 6 seconds, with Andrew Kemp in third. Glover took his first win in the category on Sunday, with Cowley and Kemp behind.

Pip Hammond and Pete Morgan shared honours in the Classic Stock Hatch Championship, while series stalwart Lee Scott finished third twice and therefore extending his championship lead.

Billy Albone won twice in RGB Sports 1000, taking his tally to six. Paul Smith and John Cutmore finished behind. The latter battled hard with BTCC and Le Mans star, Anthony Reid – who later claimed the series is the “pinnacle of club racing”. Smith took second again on Sunday, despite contact while leading. Chippy Wesemael took third.

Untitled photo

Wayne Rothwell’s Vauxhall VX220 won Roadsports, which was dominated by class B competitors. Imran Khan and Darren Ball – both in BMWs concluded the podium after early front runners – in Civics - Neal Martin and Robert Harrison / Jordan Fox had to retire.

Andy Ebdon and Paul Wells won class A in their Caterham, after series newcomer Marshall Groves dropped back in the ex-Neville Anderson Vauxhall Vectra Challenge car.

Dan Rogers beat Andrew Stacey / James Cameron to class C honours, while Sam McKee and Adam Mealand took their first class podium of the season.

Pete Seely claimed class D honours from series newcomer Esther Quaintmere in only her third race, piloting Pip Hammond’s former Classic Stock Hatch championship winning Vauxhall Nova.

Untitled photo

Mark Balmer mastered Sunday’s wet conditions to win in the Clio 182 Championship, but was chased all the way by Andrew Tibbs, with Patrick Fletcher in third. Fletcher won in race two, helped by a red flag after an incident which omitted Stephen Langton, Scott Edgar and Terry Roughton. Balmer and Jack Kingsbury concluded the podium.

Much like Locost, the MR2 Championship were split into groups with 38 entries. Championship leader Ben Rowe won for the fourth time in the opener, with Darren Aldworth and early leader Shane Mansbridge behind.

Shaun Traynor dominated the other two races. He won race two by 11 seconds, with Chris Thomas beating Graham Malings to second. Thomas took that position again in the third encounter, with Rowe third. Daniel Bryant and Adam Lockwood were class A winners.

An impressive 24-car entry looked splendid in Sports Specials. Wet conditions didn’t harm Darren Berris’ V8 power as he won twice. John Moore, Lee Emm and Adrian Cooper took overall podiums. Former champion Andy Hiley’s return to the series saw him take the fastest lap but two DNF’s. Emm won twice in class B to extend his championship lead as rival struggled.

22 cars started in Historic 750 Formula. Christian Pederson’s supercharged and methanol-fuelled Austin 7 won twice. Simon Boulter and Ben Myall concluded the podium both times. Ian Grant and Alistair Frayling-Cork took class A victories.

Many thanks to Joshua Barrett for the report

Photo Credits: Sam Nudd 


Powered by SmugMug Owner Log In