Untitled photo

Snetterton 300 Sees Championships Concluded

Huge grids were a feature of the first of two 750 Motor Club finale weekends at Snetterton. The Club Enduro Championship showed this best with an incredible 50-car grid for the two-hour race, which took place over 53 laps of the 300 Circuit. Del Shelton led the early stages with his BMW M3 E36 before handing over to newly named Lamborghini factory driver, Phil Keen. Despite loosing some places during the pit stop period, Keen fought through to win by 16 seconds. Former British GT racers Marcus Clutton and Michael Bentwood took Michael Price’s Porsche 997 and Chris Brown’s BMW M4 to second and third respectively. Sixth position was enough for Andy Baylie and Luke Schlewitz to claim the class A title by just three points over the similar M3 of Daniel Taylor and Carl Readshaw. Remarkably each British round of the championship saw a different winner, and the only double winner of the series came at the Spa-Francorchamps double header with Price’s Porsche. Despite not heading the class B pack in the opening stint, the Porsche 968 of solo driver Matt Faizey took its fifth-class victory of the season but that wasn’t enough to usurp Steve Hewson / Matt Nossiter’s BMW 328i in the overall standings. Ben Salmon / Matt Maxted and Richard Higgins / Callum MacLeod concluded the class B while Paul Sheard / Steve Dolman and Nick Dougill / John Munro finished behind Hewson/Nossiter in class C.

Untitled photo
Untitled photo

Two frenetic Classic Stock Hatch races finally saw Lee Scott win a race with his Fiesta XR2i and that meant he took his sixth championship title. His longtime rival Matt Rozier made a mistake at Murrays, which cost him the title but cliched a pair of second places, which meant he beat Marcus Ward to second in the championship. Ward won the final round, to take his tally to five this year – more than anyone else.

Ben Rushworth claimed the class A Hot Hatch title after a dominant double victory with his Honda Integra, albeit coming not in simple circumstances. He started the opening race from the last (28th) after driveshaft problems in Qualifying. But it only took him one and a half laps to lead in wet conditions on Saturday. On Sunday, Martin Ward fought Rushworth hard with the pair trading positions before Ward’s engine failed in spectacular fashion. Alistair Camp switched cars for Snetterton, which proved affective with a class B victory on Saturday before Rodren Vella finally took his sixth class win of the season after a recent drought, which meant he was claimed class champion. Phil Wright fought through well in race two, from the back, to finish just eight seconds behind. Michael Winkworth won the class C opener, which meant he won the overall title before Ian Williamson claimed victory in race two – his third win of the season in a successful second half of the season.

Joe Lock claimed his first Sports Prototype victory in Bikesports in their opener, but it was Andy Chittenden, who took second after a mighty battle. Aaron Bailey won in the wet, who was making a one-off in preparation for the Birkett Relay. Despite crashing in Qualifying, Joe Stables claimed the overall title after nine wins, while Lee Torrie won the class A title in spite of not competing in the final two events.

An eighth victory of the season was enough was Shaun Traynor to take the MR2 Championship title. Paul Cook fought him hard in the opener but won race two. Ben Rowe and Chris Thomas were involved in a close battle for the win in the season finale. Graham Malings and Adam Lockwood concluded the season as class champions.

Tom Griffiths took his first Sports Specials victory in a Tiger in the season finale. Matthew Booth won the earlier race but that wasn’t enough to stop Rob Johnston from taking the class A title. Lee Emm claimed his seventh class B title on his way to the overall championship, while Stuart Thompson won the class in the second race.

Untitled photo
Untitled photo

Michael Price and former British GT4 champion Marcus Clutton won a wet Roadsports race. Josh Johnson, Liam Crilly and Pete Seely all claimed class victories. Johnson (Golf) and Crilly (RX8) impressively finished on the overall podium.

David Heasman won twice in the BMW Car Club Racing Series, despite not leading at any point other than across the line in the opener. He made the most of traffic to beat David Kempton. Mike Cutt flew through from the back to finish second in race two.

Graham Crowhurst and Tom Coller took their first victories in the M3 Cup but it was Coller that claimed the title. Matt Maxted won twice in the 330 Challenge, while Gwyn Pollard (Crossle) and Mark Bowd (GT40) won in Bernie’s V8s / SR > Challenge.

Ben Short won all three MX5 races, but it was Paul Maguire that took the title with five victories.

The MGCC BCV8 Championship guested on the event and Jordan Spencer was the star of the show taking his class C MGB V8 to victory in sopping conditions. However, two class D victories for Russell McCarthy allowed him to take the overall title again.

Thank you to Josh Barrett for the report

Powered by SmugMug Owner Log In