Untitled photo

750MC Roars Into Life At Brands Hatch

750 Motor Club roars into action at Brands Hatch

With all weather experienced on the Saturday it set the weekend up for an action packed couple of days..

The weekend kicked off with rain, sleet and hail which affected a number of qualifying sessions. Drivers found it slippery and greasy for their first track action causing some red flags along the way.

The Armed Forces started the racing off with a packed grid of 35, their first race happened just after a hail shower, with the sun shining it was Chris Bialan in his BMW who led the field to win as the hail returned. Class B went to Simon Skerton in his Mini Cooper S while, Class C went to Jonathan Candler in his Peugeot 306, Gareth Baxter claimed Class D honours in his Toyota MR2. The second race took place in much sunnier conditions. This time it was Mark Inman in his VX220 who was victorious from Will Ashmore in his Honda Civic VTi. Class B went the way of Jamie McHugh with Chris Slator coming home first in Class C. Class D again went to Gareth Baxter.

The Hot Hatch saw a capacity grid contest the two races. Again they faced slippery wet conditions for their first race. Ben Rushworth looked on rails as he raced away from the pack winning by over 28 seconds from newcomer Ryan Steel. In Class B Neil Stringfellow won by 5 seconds from Martin Ward with James Alford finishing 3rd. Class C was hotly contested with many battles going on. David Drinkwater came out on top in his BMW compact with 2018 race winner Ian Williamson finishing 2nd and Paul Foreman 3rd. Race 2 saw conditions improve with glorious sunshine. Ben Rushworth again won by a smaller margin of 6 seconds from Ryan Steel, with Ben Leach grabbing 3rd. In Class B Martin Ward led the way right up until the last lap when the throttle problem forced retirement, this allowed James Alford to claim his first victory with race one winner Stringfellow behind, 3rd went to Kevin Bamford in his Clio 197.

The Clio 182 championship saw a chaotic start with several cars having sideways moments. Sadly a coming together between Chris Lawrence, James Sundler and James Gahagan put the latter two into retirement. Don De Graaff put in a stunning drive from the back after an engine change between qualifying and the race to finish 4th, it was 2015 champion James Bark on his return who was victorious. Race 2 saw De Graaff lead away from the start on his way to victory with a tight battle behind between Ryan Polley and Jack Kingsbury with Kingsbury finishing ahead of Polley.

Untitled photo
Untitled photo

750 Formula, saw 2018 champion Mark Glover win in the opening round with Peter Bove and Bill Rutter rounding off the podium. Dan Welsh lost a wheel in a collision with ex formula vee racer Rory Melia. Race two and the roles were reversed with a close battle for the lead Bove just finished ahead of Glover from Rutter. Bob Simpson in his 51st year of racing finished a fine fourth after having engine trouble throughout qualifying.

Formula Vee champion Craig Pollard started off in P1, however after a red flag start due to several cars coming together all of which are thankfully fine, it was Daniel Hands that took the lead. However it was local man Ian Jordan who raced into the lead on lap 3 to claim victory from Hands with Graham Gant rounding off the podium, Class B went to Ross Price. Race 2 again featured red flags, once they got underway it was Gant who won from Jordan and Hands. Class B went to Bill Garner.

Classic Stock Hatch saw a close battle with Matt Rozier leading until he ran wide at Clearways bouncing through the gravel he eventually finished 5th. 2018 champion Lee Scott headed the field winning by just 3 tenths of a second from Andrew Thorpe with Edward Cooper rounding out the podium. Stewart Place put in a fantastic drive to finish a fine 4th keeping Rozier at bay. Race two was just as exciting, pole sitter Pete Morgan made an awful get away slipping back, he managed to work his way up to the front by lap 8 to win, Rozier managed to keep it on track this time to finish 2nd and Lee Scott 3rd.

The F1000 championship joins the 750MC this year, they didn’t disappoint in their first race. Colin Brown was victorious but only by a whisper from ex Sports Specials champion Matthew Booth, only 0.06 second separated them with Dan Clowes finishing 3rd. In the partially reversed grid, it was Mittell Cars Dan Gore who raced to out right victory, Paul Butcher was 2nd with Colin Brown this time finishing in 3rd. Race three saw Brown return to the front with a more comfortable victory over Booth with Rob Welham finishing 3rd.

RGB championship was a battle of the manufactures. Mittell landed a 1-2-3 in race one with Spire sports in 4th. Chippy Wesemael converted pole to victory. Behind it was a close fight between Paul Smith, Danny Andrew and new to RGB Richard Morris. All three crossed the line within a second of each other. In race 2 Wesemael again was victorious but only by 0.16 second from Richard Morris with Ryan Yarrow completing the podium. Paul Smith had mechanical gremlins and Danny Andrew was disqualified for overtaking under yellow flags.

Untitled photo
Untitled photo

Historic 750 Formula saw Christian Pedersen dominate both races, behind in race one Simon Boulter and Richard Prior rounded off the podium. In Class A it was Al Frayling-Cork who took victory. Race 2 behind Pederson saw Boulter again finish 2nd with Martin Depper joining them on the podium. Timothy Roebuck won class A this time from Frayling-Cork.

The Sports Specials welcomed the new Ma7da series. In Class A it was Andy Hiley who did the double. In race one it was Martin Gambling from Paul Boyd. In Class B 2018 champion Lee Emm started where he left off with victory in both rounds. The new Ma7da series was won by former Locost racer Ben Powney from Stuart Sellars and Matt Cherrington. Race two saw Boyd finish behind Hiley with Stephen Ward joining them on the podium. Powney won again the Ma7da series with Lee Dolby finishing 2nd.

In the Roadsports race, it was MR2 and M3 frontrunner Paul Cook winning in his BMW E46 M3, even after 49 laps the gap to second was only 0.6 second! Matthew Weymouth clinching it from 3rd place man Chris Bialan who was only 1.22 seconds off the lead. In Class B Peter Erceg won in his Porsche Cayman with Track Obsession’s James Birch finishing 2nd in his Corsa with Wayne Rothwell behind. Class C went the way of Dan Rogers finishing ahead of the Armstrongs in their Honda with Chris Heathcote finishing a superb 3rd after having many issues just getting to Brands! Sam McKee and Alex Baldwin had qualified 2nd in class and things were going well until a suspension failure led to the first retirement of the BMW E36 328i which is driven to and from the the circuit. The inaugural 116i Trophy featured as well with 11 cars on track, it was Team BRIT that were victorious with Bobby Trundley at the wheel.

  • No Comments
Powered by SmugMug Owner Log In